Prepare your models in Draft Mode

Back to overview

Our new draft mode will let you work on your models in peace before publishing them.

Imagine this scenario: you just uploaded a model and are working on tweaking its materials, lighting and whatnot. Before you’re finished you already receive a comment from someone pointing out the lack of finish. It’s Sketchfab angst, and it regularly showed up on our forums.

No more – as of today you can take as much time as you need to prepare your model before unleashing its awesomeness upon the world.

Here’s how it works:

  • All new model uploads will now be in Draft state, making them invisible to other users.
  • While in Draft, you can edit and re-upload and usual.
  • When you’re satisfied with the result, you ‘Publish’ your model.
  • There’s a new “Uploads” page in your profile where you get an overview of your uploads and their status (we’ll be adding detailed error messages in case your upload failed):

Some things to keep in mind:

  • Once published, a model cannot go back to draft.
  • Re-uploading doesn’t change the draft state (published stays published, draft stays draft).
  • By default, models uploaded via the API are published automatically.
  • When an upload fails, you’ll get more info on why it failed.

Don’t confuse draft models with private models! Only you can view them – you can’t share a link or embed until they’re published.


– Bart


About the author

Sketchfab Team

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Related articles